Taquitos

 

In college, I survived on a diet of taquitos and corn dogs. It’s shocking I’m still alive, I know, but I’m glad to say I’ve changed my ways…Well, I’ve made them healthier anyway. After a failed Pinterest attempt with batch I won’t even show, I decided to make them my own way-simply.
IMG_3357

 

I browned a pound of beef with a few spices and added a can of pinto beans to the pot. While these were cooking, I wrapped 5 flour tortillas  individually between wet paper towels and microwaved them for 30 seconds. Near the end of cooking, I add cheese to the beef/bean mix to melt and move it to a work bowl to cool. From there, I add a tablespoon or two of the mix onto the now-pliable tortilla and roll as tightly as possible, working in sets of 5, I made about 15 total. Bake 20 minutes at 400 degrees or until edges brown, roll them a few times during cooking.

IMG_3360Quick meal to throw together or better yet, grab from the freezer. Since they are so hearty, I only eat one or two at a time, despite their size (touch your thumb to your fingertip- that’s the size I made). I froze the rest individually in aluminum foil and keep them in a zip top bag. I reheat them at about 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes for a no hassle lunch.

IMG_3362

The possibilities here are endless. I look forward to making many more batches with different fillings. Had my pantry been fully stocked, these would have featured black beans instead, but I’m glad to say the pinto beans worked out nicely. Hope you enjoyed another Cottage Cupboard original!

 

Leave a Reply

