Belgian Waffles

Despite my love for waffles, until today, I had never made any of my own. I considered purchasing a waffle maker, but Master Chef Alton Brown’s wise words rang through my head: No unitaskers! So I created a board on Pinterest dedicated to uses for the wafflemaker and got pinning anything but waffles to prove there was truly a need for one in my storage-limited kitchen. After 10 pins, I figured it might be worth a go. Last weekend I showed the board to my parents, who gave me their old Belgian waffle press, an Oster from the 1980s. This morning I finally got around to cleaning it up and using it, only to find I hadn’t pinned any recipes for actual waffles. Luckily, Taste of Home posted a recipe that was well rated and photographed, so I gave it a go and wow. Light, fluffy, perfect Belgian waffles. Thanks TOH for  a great recipe, it’s going into the Cauble cookbook! IMG_3125Pictured: my first ever homemade waffles.

Here’s a recap of the wonderful recipe:

Mix:

2 cups flour

3/4 cups sugar

3 1/2 tsp baking powder

 

In a separate bowl:

1 cup melted butter

1 1/2 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla

2 egg YOLKS

 

Beat (preferably electrically) your 2 egg WHITES until they form stiff peaks.

Mix the wet and dry bowls together and gently fold in the egg whites.

Use an ice cream scoop for perfect waffles or a half cup scoop.

Bake 1-2 minutes, checking every 30 seconds after the first minute.

This recipe made exactly 12 waffles, an even number perfect for my side-by-side and enough to freeze. Updates to come on how they reheat….

Next time, I might throw a few chocolate chips in the batter!

IMG_3126

Leave a Reply

