Lunch for the Able Woman

At work, I regularly skipped lunch, usually working straight through it. Some people brought in prepackaged microwave meals and some made sandwiches. I have never been a huge sandwich fan, and I didn’t want to have a mouthful of peanut butter or a mess to wrangle with over my keyboard and paperwork. Also, I’m just prissy. I try to not make a mess of myself when I’m eating, and that generally means little bites. I went on a a glass jar kick a while back and bought mason jars of all sizes for storage. I soon found mason jars could be used for so many things, why not lunch? These half pint can be reheated in an oven or microwave and they stack nicely for transport/fridge space and are compact enough to keep you minding portions and diversifying your diet. There are so many possibilities, but I’ve included a few here.

IMG_2935From the top left: Banana bread slices, cookies, jam, yogurt, pepperoni, peanut butter, pb&j bites, tortilla chips

Also:

Oatmeal / Baked Oatmeal

Pita/ Homemade Chips

Homemade Goldfish

Hummus/salsa

Roasted Chickpeas

Edamame

Burritos in a jar

Chicken Soup

Vegetable Stew

Chili & Cornbread!

Leftovers

Pretzels

Salad

Links and links and links to other ideas too

Below: Banana Bread, oranges, pb&j- a quick lunch!IMG_2939

 

Mason jars also make wonderful miniature cheesecakes! The key is to cook them slowly in a tray of water 🙂

Leave a Reply

