Chocolate Dipped Treats

Chocolate is the best thing in the whole wide world. I like to add it to as many things as I can. Thanks to Pinterest and my local baking shop, Spun Sugar, I’ve been busy dipping everything in chocolate. Like all other things, the quality of the ingredients and the love added determine the final product. I’ve used the cheap chocolate and it almost turned me off colored chocolates, but quality matters. Guittard is sold at my local shop for $4/lb. That bag stretches pretty far and lasts a while too.
IMG_2873Fill the first level of a double boiler half full with water and set it to medium boil. Add fewer than you expect to use, it only takes 3-5 minutes to get the chocolate melted smooth.

IMG_2872There are a thousand possibilities with melted chocolate, I started out with pretzels, these make amazing gifts for the holidays. Just requires a bit bunch of patience. I separated the broken ones out:

IMG_2870

Then individually dipped each one in chocolate, tapped it against the side of the pot 8-10 times, and placed them on on wax paper. I then repeated the melting process with red chocolate and drizzled the red across the pretzels.

IMG_2876Then I moved on to the cereal treats I (froze and then) cut into hearts.

IMG_2875

IMG_2877

After all this, I still had warmed up too much chocolate, and since there is no such thing as too much chocolate, I pulled out some chocolate molds I had picked up at Spun Sugar a while back. Most of them were eaten straight away, but the few I have left over will make great cupcake toppers.
Tulips, fans, flourishes and FROGS!

IMG_2880

 

A while back, I found a lovely little recipe to make my very own peppermint candies on Pinterest and couldn’t resist. Mint patties dipped in chocolate are always a yes, I was very pleased with the turnout from a super easy recipe.

mint

Oh Nuts’ awesome recipe is below, but for more detailed instructions, visit her page. I loved them and my friend said they were better than the mass-market candy, quite a compliment.

mint diy Just throw together:

2 1/4 cups powdered sugar
2 tbsp softened butter
2 tsp peppermint extract
2 tbsp cream
roll, refrigerate, dip into
12 oz Mellting Chocolate Wafers

 

Leave a Reply

