Easy & Cheap Chicken Noodle Soup

IMG_2819 I only recently learned how easy it is to make tasty and healthy chicken noodle soup. This soup is great because it avoids all the nasty preservatives and excess sodium in canned soup and can be tossed in the crockpot for easy cooking. Cooking on the stovetop is fine as long as its attended, which would mean hanging out in the kitchen a bit too long for me. Here are the goods:

IMG_2802

Pictured: Chicken Breasts, Celery Stalks (5), Carrots (4), Garlic Clove (1), Chicken Bouillon, Russet Potato (Optional), Pasta Noodle IMG_2807(Fusilli used here, wide egg noodles are good too) First things first: Cook the chicken breasts. IMG_2806 I threw mine in the broiler for quick cooking, about 5-7 minutes on each side with a little bit of lemon pepper seasoning. In the summertime, I often throw them on the grill, cooks about as quick, little clean up is necessary. Next thing is to measure out 8 cups of hot water and add 8 teaspoons of chicken bouillon into the crockpot- turn that bad boy on high. Then get to peeling and chopping those veggies, I got to the potatoes first, as they need the longest to cook. For that reason, and for the sake of ladylike consumption, I cubed them very small. I also cut up celery and carrots pretty small, below. IMG_2804 Other veggies could definitely be added too, like perhaps an onion, (which I unfortunately forgot on my trip to the store today. ugh). The garlic was minced- a few times over, as it should be. By the time the veggies were added, the chicken was ready. After letting it cool down a bit, I cut them up and added cubed chicken pieces to the pot. IMG_2808 I let all these cook and conspire together for about 3-4 hours, then I add the pasta. The pasta doesn’t need terribly long to cook, once the noodles are soft, you’re good to go. I let mine cook for about an hour and the result was wonderful. IMG_2822

One thought on “Easy & Cheap Chicken Noodle Soup

  1. Pingback: Lunch for the Able Woman | Cottage Cupboard

Leave a Reply

